How to install and configure latest Gammu (1.29) in Ubuntu 10.04

I think you already know (enough) about Gammu, so I won’t tell a lot about it. Gammu is a software which has some abilities to control your phone through computer. It provides some useful functions for handling Message. That’s why it widely used and well-known as the backend for simple SMS Gateway System.

Few weeks ago, I got a project to build a LAN Monitoring System. The system is really simple, it’s do an automatic check for LAN and then send SMS notification if there any problem occurs. It combines Gammu (for SMS backend), MySQL (for data storage), and PHP (as the frontend of the System).

It’s easy to install and configure Gammu under my development environment. I use standar Ubuntu 10.04, with the default installed kernel, 2.6.32 and MySQL as Backend for data storage. *You need Apache PHP MySQL on your development environment. Continue reading