Broadcom Wireless Problem in Ubuntu 10.10 (Firmware Missing) – Compaq CQ20

[Update]

Maybe you could try this one : http://www.kaskus.us/showthread.php?t=5276749 more simple, coz we don’t need Internet connection to make it works :D

[/Update]

I faced this problem yesterday, after installing Ubuntu 10.10 on my friend’s HP Compaq CQ20. Everything went smoothly, except the Wireless LAN Card that disabled by default after installation. I searched using Google, and found the solution. The solution is so simple, update your repository indexes, and then, enable the driver.

Okay, lets do it !

First, make sure you are connected to Internet already. You could use Wired or Mobile Broadband connection.

Second, update your repository indexes. Simply open up the terminal (from menu Applications > Accessories > Terminal). Type this command and hit enter :

sudo apt-get update

If you sick of facing command-line interface (terminal), you can update your repository indexes using GUI. Here are the steps :
Open SPM from menu System > Administration > Synaptic Packages Manager.

System > Administration > Synaptic Packages Manager

Just click the button, and it will download the repo indexes automatically. Wait till it finished downloading, then close the SPM.

Third, open Additional Drivers from System > Administration > Additional Drivers. It should be searching for drivers now. Once finished, you will see there’s proprietary driver listed. Something like “Broadcom STA Wireless”. Select it, and then press “Activate”. It will download and install the driver.

Fourth, Restart your laptop. And it should be working now ! :D

Source :
http://www.downloadatoz.com/driver/articles/fix-disabled-wireless-network-connection-for-ubuntu-10-10.html

13 thoughts on “Broadcom Wireless Problem in Ubuntu 10.10 (Firmware Missing) – Compaq CQ20

    • Oh , I don’t know much about Broadcom, since this is the first time I installed broadcom wireless in Ubuntu. (Yeah, my wireless using Atheros chipset, which is enabled by default in Ubuntu, hehehe)
      Thanks, brother Kid :D

  1. Thanks man, I was about to give up my search for a fix! I have a different computer with a broadcom wireless device, but it worked. Thanks a lot! :D

  2. Didn’t work for me, I have a HP pavilion DV6100. It (the wireless)worked in 10.04 by using the B43-FWCutter utility, not so in Meercrap. I have been searching for weeks and am fed up. Can anyone recommend a Linux distro that actually works ?, otherwise its back to Windows for this laptop. I dislike Microsoft, but I need a functioning OS.
    Thanks

  3. Pingback: Broadcom Wireless Problem in Ubuntu (Firmware Missing) | TurboLinux Blog
  4. Hi I’m a complete novice at fixing PC’s. I’m not running Windows system, I have Ubuntu, how do I do the 2nd instruction?

    • I think it is clear enough.. Anyway, you are using ubuntu 10.10, right?
      If so, I will explain it once again..

      1. open gnomer-terminal. Click “Application > Accecories > Terminal” from top-left panel (bar).
      2. on terminal, type : sudo apt-get update
      3. when complete, you can go to the 3rd step of this post :)

Leave a Reply

